May 8th, 2014 WOD

Posted: 20140508 in Workout of the Day
Tags: , , , , ,

Dear diary,
What the hell. I thought we were friends. I’ve been everyday this week, which is a record. My goal this week was to go easy enough all week so I could go Monday thru Friday. Today sucked, but I think I’ll be ok for tomorrow.

You know it’s going to suck when it starts and stops with a 50 calorie row. A calorie is hard thing to watch on the monitor, especially when it gives you a split of 800~ calories per hour. Which is an insane amount of calories.

I started off with 50 box jumps at 24 inches tall. No big deal. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize they were box overs until after I had done two of them. However, I think they are a little easier because you don’t have to stand up for a full extension.

The deadlifts made my back very tight. I started at 115 pounds. I did all 50 I sets of 10. On the way back, I was doing sets of 5 and had to stop at 30 to change weight to 75 pounds. It still sucked doing the last 20. My back was still very tight until I had done about 20 box jumps. Squatting on top of the box helped it. It stretched my lower back.

Getting back to the rower was rough. I didn’t want to do 50 more calories but it didn’t take that long. I think it took 3:30 on the first 50 and 5 minutes on the last.

Overall, 43:57 and I’m pretty happy with that. I wasted at least a minute changing weight on the DL.

20140508-204644.jpg

Leave a comment